What did you give up? 

As the Lenten season comes to a close, I am reminiscent of this journey. Most Christians during this season give something up. I tend to add something. Something meaningful for myself and others around me. In years past I have increased volunteer output and even have made a point to give at least one positive comment a day. (Some days were harder than others) This year, however, I took on a feat I never thought I needed to tackle. My faith. More specifically, my prayer. I was reminded of an old adage of a woman that prayed every night. Night after night that she would win the lottery. She prayed and prayed and nothing ever happened. She got upset and cursed the Lord above. Finally, she prayed a littler more. Just let me win the lottery. A voice from the Lord above spoke to her in a sweet soft voice and said, you have to buy a ticket first. 

For me, I have always believed. I have gone to church every Sunday for 27 years now. I sit front row and shake my head and sing every hymn. I go to church. But is that all I do? I mean yes, I do community out reach and I try to help my neighbor as much as I can. But have I ever understood what it is to be Christian? For me, up until this point in my life, I feel like I was just being a good person. Not a faithful person. I can’t say with any vote of confidence that I walk through life with the Lord in mind with every action I make. And for that, I am and will always be sorry. I know I can quick to judge, haste to anger, and I’m sure a million other human flaws. But this Lenten season I have started a very long and never ending road to prayer and forgiveness. 

Tonight, in the Good Friday service at church, we were asked to read the part of Jesus at his crucifixion. This was to put ourselves in his place, and understand how much of a true human sacrifice he made. He did something that God has never asked anyone else to do. We have the glory of living in and through him to better those around us without the burden put on Jesus. 

I learned something special this season. I learned how to become more connected to my God. Tonight, during the sermon Pastor Ryan, as he normally does, picked my thoughts out of my head and made a simple statement. Learn to pray. It was a simple enough petition and it moved me. While saying the Lord’s Prayer, I finally prayed it for the first time in my life. Sure, I have said it many times. But never have I experienced the words like they sounded today. Maybe this is my big moment my English cohorts have been asking me about. But as a single tear rolled down my cheek, I asked the Lord for forgiveness and thanked him for the ultimate sacrifice he made for me and all of my brothers and sisters in this world. 
Amen. 

Leave a comment